The Toyota S Series Engine

Introduction Of The S Series Engine

The Toyota S Series of engines are four-cylinder (straight-4) models that were introduced in 1982 and discontinued in 2007. These engines were replaced by the AZ and AR engine series. The S Series is noted for its robust cast-iron block and alloy heads configured for efficient operation in the 2-liter range. It was a staple of Toyota performance engines until its replacement.

3S-GE toyota engine


The first-generation 1S appeared in the Camry and Celica as part of their LASRE family (lightweight advanced super response engine). The second generation appeared briefly but was replaced before 1988 by the third generation.

The 3S-FC appears in the 1987-1991 Camry while the 3S-FE appears in the Celica SSI from 1987-1994. The 3S-GE appears in the Celica 2.0 GT-i 16, the 1985-1989 GT-R and MR2, and the 1994-1998 Celica GT and MR2. The 3S-GT appears in several GT models and race-ready platforms, including the 1995-1996 Supra GT. The 3S-GTE appears in the 1986-2007 Celica GT-Four.

The fourth-generation (4S) came along for less sporty applications. The 4S-FE entered the Corona in 1989 through 1998. The fifth-generation 5S-FE entered the MR2 and Camry in 1990 and stayed through 2001 and was featured in special editions of that car as well.



  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Plug Gap: ?

3S-FE / GE/ GT / GTE

  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Plug Gap: 0.035 in


  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Plug Gap: ?


  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Plug Gap: 0.044 in

To learn about other Toyota engines, see our comprehensive list here.