We are open and processing orders! However, due to COVID-19, some orders may be delayed. We appreciate your patience.

Discount Prices. Same Day Shipping. No Hassle Returns.

The Toyota AZ Series Engine

The AZ Series is a straight-four, aluminum block, dual overhead cam (DOHC) engine as a larger version of the NZ series. They use a single-stage roller chain and variable valve timing, intelligent (VVT-i) system. Fuel injection is sequential. The AZ replaces the S engine and was replaced by the AR engine series.


The 1AZ-FE

Development of the AZ Series Engine

The 1AZ-FE is the first of this series and appears in the 2001-2003 RAV4. Similar to that, the 1AZ-FSE features Toyota's D-4 direct injection system, also appearing in the RAV4. In the U.S., the most prolific of the AZ Series is the 2AZ-FE, which was in the 2002-2009 Camry, 2009-2011 Matrix, 2009-2010 Pontiac Vibe, 2009-2012 Toyota Corolla XRS, 2002-2008 Camry Solara, 2004-2008 RAV4, 2001-2007 Highlander, 2005-2010 Scion tC, and 2008-2012 Scion xB. An Atkinson cycle variant, the 2AZ-FXE, appeared in the AHV40 Camry Hybrid (2007-2010) and Lexus HS 250h (2010-2012).


  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Gap: 0.043 in


  • Firing Order: 1-3-4-2
  • Spark Gap: 0.044 in